Board of Directors

Board Structure

The Board of Directors consists of seven active members that are elected by the membership. Each member holds the position for two years. Elections are held at the Council’s Annual General Meeting. No more than two individuals from any one investigative body may be on the Board of Directors at any time. Directors may be appointed by the President as chairpersons to one or more standing committees. The Board may also appoint other Directors or Members of the Council to assist in accomplishing those goals and objectives required by the Board. Board members elect the Executive Committee from amongst themselves which consist of a President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer.

Board Members

Tanya Cadeau, RCEC President

Tanya Cadeau is currently Manager, Racing Eligibility – Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario.  Tanya joined the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario in 2007 as the Manager of Training & Project Management within the Investigations & Enforcement Bureau.  She has provided leadership in the development of policies, standards and protocols for inspection staff and has overseen the development of provincial training programs for multi-disciplinary teams across regional offices.  Tanya has contributed to many innovative initiatives at the AGCO and has also held roles in Human Resources Training and Development and now Operations Division.  She was the recipient of the AGCO Award of Excellence, recognized for her leadership and commitment on a significant amount of transformational projects.  Prior to joining the AGCO, Tanya worked with in the Police Quality Assurance Unit of the Ministry of Community Safety & Correctional Services and the Ontario Provincial Police.

Jeremy Locke, RCEC Treasurer

Jeremy Locke joined the Ontario Racing Commission in 2004 as an investigator and was promoted to Team Leader for the Regulatory Investigations Division in 2007. Currently, Jeremy is Manager of Special Projects for the ORC. As well, Jeremy is a member of the faculty of Fanshaw College where he teaches business law and labour relations. Prior to Jeremy joining the ORC, he worked with the Ontario Society forthe Prevention of Cruelty to Animals as the Senior Inspector for Western Ontario; managing the Society’s investigators in the western portions of the province as well as managing their provincial training program for its’ investigators.

Tony Thompson, RCEC Director

Tony Thompson is into his second term as Director for the RCEC.  Tony has over 37 years’ experience in law enforcement.  Tony’s experience includes front line policing with the RCMP in BC and with a municipal police service near Peterborough; creating and managing the Special Constable group at Toronto Community Housing; and leading Municipal Enforcement Departments for three municipalities for about 14 years.  Tony is currently Manager of Investigation with the WSIB.

John Mania, RCEC Director & Corporate Secretary

John Mania is a licensed Private Investigator (Ontario), a CLEAR certified Investigator, and currently the Manager of Unlicensed Practice for Professional Engineers Ontario leading a three-person team. Previously he was a Provincial Offences Officer leading a team of forty Inspectors and Investigators as the Manager of Compliance & Enforcement for skilled trades regulator the Ontario College of Trades. He holds a Bachelor of Technology from Ryerson University, having worked twenty years in the private sector before moving to the regulatory sector in early 2014.

Jacob B. Omajali, PhD, RCEC Director

Jacob is currently a Resource Manager within the Ecosystems and Fisheries Management Division of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Canada in the Pacific Region where he applies the Fishery Acts and Regulations in ensuring the management, administration and protection of Canada’s Aquatic wildlife and ocean resources for future generation of Canadians. Previously he was a Multi-program Inspector with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) within the Interior of British Columbia where he ensured compliance of federally regulated third parties to the provisions of applicable Acts and Regulations, policies and guidance documents. He was also a member of the BC emergency response team within the field epidemiology group, responsible for providing data during animal disease outbreaks such as the Notifiable Avian Influenza (NAI). Before his transition to Federal Government roles, Jacob spent over 10 years in different countries, teaching and carrying out scientific research related to environmental and industrial applications of novel materials, the latest being at Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops, BC where he taught Chemistry and Biochemistry while conducting Postdoctoral research in Fish nutrition and biochemistry. He earned a PhD in Biosciences from the University of Birmingham in England through an award sponsored by the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission of the British Government. Presently, Jacob volunteers as the Chair to the School Council of the St. Ann’s Academy in Kamloops, BC. When he is not busy contributing to scientific knowledge through editorial service, peer review of scientific manuscripts, writing of papers in peer reviewed journals; he loves to travel, explore new environments and cultures and spend quality time with his beautiful family.

Andrew Lewis, RCEC Director

Andrew Lewis has been working in the security and law enforcement industry for the past 14 years. In 2008 he started his career in the private sector working in security, where he performed high profile escorts, surveillance of government properties and banks. In 2010 Andrew accepted a position as the Operations Manager of a medium sized security and parking enforcement company. Andrew was responsible for managing and deploying 70 staff members, training and customer retention. In 2014 Andrew commenced employment with the Town of Milton. During his employment he has held a number of roles that include, Parking Enforcement Officer, Municipal Law Enforcement Officer, Supervisor of Licensing and Enforcement and currently Project Lead, Administrative Penalties. In his current role Andrew was an instrumental member of a working project team that developed and implemented the Administrative Penalty System. Andrew currently oversees the operations of the (APS) program and provides support and supervision to the staff involved with the program.